Ecological Economics and Public Health: An Interview with Dr. Trevor Hancock

In 2019, the National Collaborating Centre for Healthy Public Policy (NCCHPP) reached out to Dr. Trevor Hancock to discuss ways to introduce the core ideas of ecological economics to public health practitioners and decision makers. Some of those ideas were previously exposed in a 2015 report on the ecological determinants that Dr. Hancock led for the Canadian Public Health Association (CPHA) (Hancock, Spady, & Soskolne, 2015).

Those discussions eventually took shape in the form of the interview published here. As governments around the world, including the Canadian federal government, are thinking about ways to move beyond a narrow focus on economic growth toward the implementation of “well-being budgets” or “sustainable budgets” the ideas contained in this interview are timely to inform those reflections.

In what follows, Dr. Hancock addresses seven main areas:

  1. Ecological determinants of health
  2. The Anthropocene
  3. Ecological economics
  4. Alternative economic models
  5. Making the transition to another economy
  6. The role of public health
  7. Advocacy in public health

The overarching themes of this discussion concern respecting ecological limits and focusing policy and public health on achieving well-being for all. Dr. Hancock has targeted these areas for his entire career in public health. Ideas like these have never been timelier than they are today.

About Trevor Hancock

One of Canada’s leading public health physicians, Trevor Hancock is no stranger to the topic of ecological economics and public health. He first became interested in the topic while still a medical student in London in the early 1970s, as part of an ecological and political awakening that led him to become an area organizer for the People Party (later the Ecology and then the Green Party) in the UK in 1974, and later as the first leader of the Green Party of Canada in the mid-1980s.

One of his early book chapters, in 1986, was "Towards a healthier economy” in The Living Economy. He also co-authored a brief monograph with Ron Labonté in 1986 entitled Healthy Economic Development: Toward a Health Promoting Economic System. He has continued to have a strong interest in the links between the economy, the environment, and health, most recently exhibited in the 2015 report on the ecological determinants of health that he led for the Canadian Public Health Association.

Dr. Hancock recently retired as a Professor of Public Health at the University of Victoria. In 2015 he was awarded an Honourary Fellowship in the UK’s Faculty of Public Health, and in 2017 he was awarded the Defries Medal, the CPHA’s highest award, presented for outstanding contributions in the broad field of public health.


To learn more visit the website of the National Collaborating Centre for Healthy Public Policy - NCCHPP (http://www.ccnpps.ca/en/).

Ecological Economics and Public Health: An Interview with Dr. Trevor Hancock

Author(s): 

Subject(s): 

Publication type: 

ISBN (electronic): 

978-2-550-86708-1

Économie écologique et santé publique: une entrevue avec le Dr Trevor Hancock

En 2019, le Centre de collaboration nationale sur les politiques publiques et la santé (CCNPPS) a contacté le Dr Trevor Hancock pour explorer comment présenter les idées fondamentales de l'économie écologique aux praticiens et aux décideurs en santé publique. Certaines de ces idées avaient déjà été exposées dans un rapport sur les déterminants écologiques que le Dr Hancock avait dirigé pour l'Association canadienne de santé publique (ACSP) en 2015 (Hancock, Spady et Soskolne, 2015).

Ces discussions ont finalement pris la forme d'une entrevue que nous publions dans le contexte où les gouvernements du monde entier, y compris le gouvernement fédéral canadien, réfléchissent à des moyens d'aller au-delà d'un focus étroit sur la croissance économique pour aller vers la mise en œuvre de « budgets de bien-être » ou « budgets durables ». Les idées contenues dans cette entrevue arrivent en temps opportun pour éclairer ces réflexions.

Dans ce document, le Dr Hancock aborde sept domaines principaux :

  1. Les déterminants écologiques de la santé;
  2. L'Anthropocène;
  3. L’économie écologique;
  4. Les modèles économiques alternatifs;
  5. La transition vers une autre économie;
  6. Le rôle de la santé publique;
  7. Le plaidoyer en santé publique.

Le thème général de la discussion est celui du respect des limites écologiques et de la nécessité de focaliser l'attention des politiques et de la santé publique sur le bien-être pour tous. Le Dr Hancock s'est concentré sur ces questions tout au long de sa carrière en santé publique et des idées comme celles-ci sont plus opportunes qu’elles ne l’ont jamais été.

À propos de Trevor Hancock

L’un des médecins phares de santé publique au pays, Trevor Hancock, connaît bien l’économie écologique et le milieu de la santé publique. Il s’est d’abord intéressé au sujet lors qu’il étudiait la médecine à Londres, au début des années 1970, époque où il s’est éveillé aux questions écologiques et politiques. Cet éveil l’a mené à devenir, en 1974, organisateur régional du People Party, qui allait devenir l’Ecology Party, puis le Green Party, au Royaume-Uni. Il est par la suite devenu le premier chef du Parti vert du Canada au milieu des années 1980.

L’un des premiers chapitres d’ouvrage qu’il a signés, en 1986, s’intitulait « Towards a healthier economy », paru dans The Living Economy. La même année, il a aussi cosigné, avec Ron Labonté, une brève monographie intitulée Healthy Economic Development: Toward a Health Promoting Economic System. Le vif intérêt qu’il porte aux liens entre l’économie, l’environnement et la santé s’est maintenu, comme en fait foi le rapport sur les déterminants écologiques de la santé, publié en 2015 pour l’Association canadienne de santé publique (ACSP), et dont il a été l’initiateur.

Le Dr Hancock, qui était professeur de santé publique à l’Université de Victoria, est retraité depuis peu. En 2015, le Faculty of Public Health, ordre des professionnels de la santé publique établi au Royaume-Uni, lui a conféré le titre de Honourary Fellow. En 2017, il a reçu la médaille Defries, le plus grand honneur que confère l’ACSP, pour souligner sa contribution exceptionnelle au vaste domaine de la santé publique.


Pour en apprendre davantage visitez le site du Centre de collaboration nationale sur les politiques publiques et la santé - CCNPPS (http://www.ccnpps.ca/fr/).

Économie écologique et santé publique : une entrevue avec le Dr Trevor Hancock

Auteur(s): 

Sujet(s): 

Type de publication: 

ISBN (électronique): 

978-2-550-86707-4

Notice Santécom: