Solidarity in Public Health Ethics and Practice: Its Conceptions, Uses and Implications

Increasingly, the concept of solidarity is being brought into discussion as one of the principles and values that should guide the ethical practices of public health actors.1 Reflecting on ethical issues specific to solidarity as it relates to public health practice appears worthwhile because solidarity is a concept that first and foremost concerns groups or communities of people. Viewed from this perspective, solidarity is a value that, for some authors, seems more suited to playing a central role in public health ethics than do the more individualistic values, such as autonomy, which are usually regarded as central to biomedical or clinical ethics (Baylis, Kenny, & Sherwin, 2008; Dawson, 2011a; Prainsack & Buyx, 2011). This is why solidarity is frequently mentioned in frameworks that rely on values or principles to help guide ethical deliberations specific to the more community- and population-oriented public health issues (e.g., Baylis et al., 2008; Childress et al., 2002; Coughlin, 2008; Public Health Ontario, 2012; Singer et al., 2003; Tannahill, 2008; Thompson, Faith, Gibson, & Upshur, 2006; Upshur et al., 2005; Willison et al., 2014; World Health Organization [WHO], 2007 & 2014). However, as Prainsack and Buyx point out, “there is no coherent way in which the term solidarity is used in bioethics” (2011, p. 36) or, we might add, in public health ethics.

Our objective in this paper is to clarify the concept of solidarity, the various ways it is used and the moral implications associated with it when it is treated as a value or as a principle to guide actions. By highlighting the central components and the more variable dimensions of solidarity, our goal is to assist practitioners in reflecting on their own interpretations of the concept of solidarity and on the ways they do, or could, use it in their practices. Examining the multiple interpretations of solidarity may also facilitate discussion and deliberation among colleagues by allowing different perspectives to be better understood and navigated. Thus, our objective is neither to offer THE correct definition of solidarity for public health nor to differentiate between legitimate and illegitimate uses of the principle of solidarity.

Although solidarity is often included among the principles discussed in public health ethics frameworks, it is rarer to find answers to the questions “why is the principle of solidarity relevant?” and “how should it be used?” We hope that this paper will help answer these questions.

The paper is structured as follows:

  • Section 1 – What is solidarity?
  • Section 2 – How has the principle of solidarity been used in public health ethics and practice?
  • Section 3 – Dimensions of solidarity
  • Section 4 – Practical use: Case study and questions

1 As an indication of the growing interest in the concept of solidarity in public health ethics and bioethics, one might consider 1. the report Solidarity: Reflections on an emerging concept in bioethics produced by Prainsack and Buyx (2011) for the Nuffield Council on Bioethics; 2. the special issue of the journal Bioethics (2012, vol. 26, no. 7) devoted to the role of solidarity in bioethics; and 3. the special issue of the journal Diametros (2015, vol. 43) examining solidarity and justice in health care systems. Because the latter special issue appeared just prior to the publication of this document, the articles it contains could not be taken into account. We invite readers to consult that special issue at the following address: http://www.diametros.iphils.uj.edu.pl/index.php/diametros/issue/view/45.

Solidarity in Public Health Ethics and Practice: Its Conceptions, Uses and Implications

Author(s): 

Subject(s): 

Publication type: 

ISBN (electronic): 

978-2-550-86766-1

La solidarité dans l’éthique et la pratique de la santé publique : conceptions, usages et implications

Le concept de solidarité est de plus en plus évoqué lorsqu’il est question des principes et des valeurs qui devraient guider les pratiques éthiques des acteurs de la santé publique1. Réfléchir aux enjeux éthiques spécifiques à la solidarité dans le contexte de la pratique de la santé publique semble intéressant parce qu’il s’agit d’un concept qui concerne en premier lieu des groupes ou des communautés de personnes. En ce sens, la solidarité serait pour certains auteurs une valeur plus adaptée à jouer un rôle central en éthique de la santé publique que des valeurs plus individualistes, comme l’autonomie, habituellement considérées comme centrales en éthique biomédicale ou clinique (Baylis, Kenny et Sherwin, 2008; Dawson, 2011a; Prainsack et Buyx, 2011). C’est pourquoi la solidarité est fréquemment mentionnée dans les cadres de référence utilisant des valeurs ou des principes pour aider à guider les délibérations éthiques propres aux enjeux plus collectifs de la santé publique (p. ex., Baylis et al., 2008; Childress et al., 2002; Coughlin, 2008; Organisation mondiale de la Santé [OMS], 2007; Public Health Ontario, 2012; Singer et al., 2003; Tannahill, 2008; Thompson, Faith, Gibson et Upshur, 2006; Upshur et al., 2005; Willison et al., 2014; World Health Organization [WHO], 2014). Pourtant, comme le mentionnaient Prainsack et Buyx, « le terme “solidarité” n’est pas utilisé de façon cohérente en bioéthique » (2011, p. 36, traduction libre) ni, pourrions-nous ajouter, en éthique de la santé publique.

Notre objectif dans ce document est d’éclairer le concept de solidarité, les différents usages qui en sont faits et les implications morales qui lui sont attribuées lorsqu’il est traité comme une valeur ou un principe pour guider les actions. En mettant en lumière les composantes centrales et les dimensions plus variables de la solidarité, notre but est d’aider les praticiens à réfléchir à leur propre interprétation du concept de solidarité et aux manières dont ils l’utilisent ou pourraient l’utiliser dans leur pratique. Considérer les multiples interprétations de la solidarité peut aussi faciliter les discussions et les délibérations entre collègues en permettant de mieux cerner les différences de perspectives et de s’orienter à travers celles-ci. Nous n’avons donc ni l’objectif de proposer LA bonne définition de la solidarité pour la santé publique ni celui de départager les usages légitimes et illégitimes du principe de solidarité.

Si la solidarité apparaît souvent parmi les principes inclus dans les cadres de référence en matière d’éthique en santé publique, il est plus rare de trouver des réponses aux questions « pourquoi le principe de solidarité est-il pertinent? » et « comment l’utiliser? ». Nous espérons également que ce document apportera des éléments de réponse à ces questions.

Le document est structuré comme suit :

  • Section 1 – Qu’est-ce que la solidarité?
  • Section 2 – Comment le principe de solidarité a-t-il été utilisé dans l’éthique et la pratique de la santé publique?
  • Section 3 – Les dimensions de la solidarité
  • Section 4 – Mise en pratique : étude de cas et questions

1 À titre d’exemple de l’intérêt grandissant pour le concept de solidarité en éthique de la santé publique et en bioéthique, mentionnons : 1) le rapport Solidarity: Reflections on an emerging concept in bioethics écrit par Prainsack et Buyx (2011) pour le Nuffield Council on Bioethics; 2) le numéro spécial de la revue Bioethics (2012, vol. 26, no 7) consacré au rôle de la solidarité en bioéthique; et 3) le numéro spécial de la revue Diametros (2015, vol. 43) portant sur la solidarité et la justice dans les systèmes de soins de santé. Comme ce dernier numéro spécial est paru tout juste avant la publication du présent document, les articles qu’il contient n’ont pu être pris en considération. Nous invitons les lecteurs à consulter ce numéro spécial à l’adresse suivante : http://www.diametros.iphils.uj.edu.pl/index.php/diametros/issue/view/45

La solidarité dans l’éthique et la pratique de la santé publique : conceptions, usages et implications

Auteur(s): 

Sujet(s): 

Type de publication: 

ISBN (électronique): 

978-2-550-86765-4

Notice Santécom: