Introduction to Public Health Ethics 1: Background

A public health ethics must begin with recognition of the values at the core of public health, not a modification of values used to guide other kinds of health care interactions (Baylis, Kenny, & Sherwin, 2008, p. 199).

Public health practitioners have long grappled with ethical issues in their practice but, until recently, there have been few relevant ethics frameworks that take into account the values base of public health.1 Historically, those involved in health care ethics and bioethics more generally have failed to provide public health practitioners with guidance geared to their unique ethical concerns. Until relatively recently, a rights-based deontological approach (Zahner, 2000), or the health care ethics principles of autonomy, beneficence, non-maleficence, and justice (Beauchamp & Childress, 1979), were invoked as the appropriate framework to support ethical public health practice. But, as an examination of the distinct goals and collective orientation of public health shows, health care ethics provides neither an adequate theoretical foundation nor appropriate normative justification for public health practice. This is because health care ethics focuses primarily on individuals, often in clinical settings, whereas public health ethics is concerned primarily with populations, often in community settings.

Public health ethics is a relatively new field of applied ethics (Bayer et al., 2007; Baylis, Kenny, & Sherwin, 2008; Dawson & Verweij, 2007). Although a few writers some years ago proposed the need for an ethics of public health (Beauchamp, 1976; Lappe, 1986), the field of public health ethics has only been claimed and named as a distinct area of scholarship since the late 1990s and into the new millennium (Kass, 2004). In fact, Kass says that the term “public health ethics” was rarely used prior to the year 2000.

This paper, the first of three, defines public health and reviews the history and development of public health ethics, including its philosophical underpinnings. The next papers will use this introduction as its starting point for a more involved exploration of the theoretical and philosophical background to public health ethics, the emerging frameworks for public health ethics, as well as a snapshot of where the field stands and where it may be going.


1 This paper is based upon a section from a previously published book chapter. The author and the National Collaborating Centre for Healthy Public Policy wish to thank Pearson Canada for allowing us to republish this copyrighted material in order to make it available here. The original text is: MacDonald, M. (2013). Ethics of public health. In J.L. Storch, P. Rodney, and R. Starzomski (Eds.), Toward a moral horizon: Nursing ethics for leadership and practice. Pearson Education Canada.

Introduction to Public Health Ethics 1: Background

Author(s): 

Subject(s): 

Publication type: 

ISBN (electronic): 

978-2-550-87862-9

Introduction à l’éthique en santé publique 1 : contexte

L’éthique en santé publique doit débuter par la reconnaissance des valeurs fondamentales de la santé publique, et non par une modification des valeurs utilisées pour guider d’autres types d’interactions en matière de soins de santé (Baylis, Kenny et Sherwin, 2008, p. 199, traduction libre).

Les praticiens de la santé publique font face à des enjeux éthiques depuis longtemps, mais, jusqu’à récemment, ils disposaient de peu de cadres de référence pertinents pour l’analyse éthique qui prenaient en compte les valeurs centrales de la santé publique1. Les intervenants en éthique de la santé publique et en bioéthique, plus généralement, n’avaient pas réussi à leur fournir des points de repère adaptés à leurs préoccupations éthiques particulières. Il y a relativement peu de temps, on considérait encore qu’une approche déontologique fondée sur les droits (Zahner, 2000) ou sur les principes éthiques des soins de santé que sont l’autonomie, la bienfaisance, la non-malfaisance et la justice (Beauchamp et Childress, 1979) constituait un cadre approprié pour la pratique éthique de la santé publique. Toutefois, comme l’indique l’examen des objectifs précis et de l’orientation globale de la santé publique, l’éthique clinique, ou l’éthique en soins de santé, ne peut ni jeter les bases théoriques appropriées ni fournir une justification normative pertinente pour la pratique en santé publique. En effet, l’éthique clinique vise principalement les individus, souvent en contexte clinique, alors que l’éthique en santé publique vise surtout les populations, souvent dans un contexte communautaire.

L’éthique en santé publique est une branche relativement nouvelle de l’éthique appliquée (Bayer, Gostin, Jennings et Steinbock, 2007; Baylis et al., 2008; Dawson et Verweij, 2007). Même si des auteurs ont souligné il y a quelques années le besoin d’une éthique en santé publique (Beauchamp, 1976; Lappe, 1986), ce domaine n’a été revendiqué et établi comme un secteur d’études distinct qu’à la fin des années 1990 et au début du nouveau millénaire (Kass, 2004). En fait, selon Kass, l’expression « éthique en santé publique » n’était que rarement utilisée avant l’an 2000.

Ce document, le premier de trois, définit ce qu’est la santé publique et examine l’histoire et le développement de l’éthique en santé publique, dont ses fondements philosophiques. Les documents suivants se baseront sur le premier pour explorer plus à fond le contexte théorique et philosophique de l’éthique en santé publique. Ils présenteront aussi les cadres éthiques émergents en santé publique, et donneront un aperçu de l’état actuel de ce champ et de son avenir possible.


1 Ce document est basé sur une section d’un chapitre de livre déjà publié en anglais. L’auteure et le Centre de collaboration nationale sur les politiques publiques et la santé souhaitent remercier Pearson Canada de leur avoir permis de traduire et de publier en français ce matériel protégé par des droits d’auteur pour le rendre disponible ici. Le texte original est : MacDonald, M. (2013). Ethics of public health. Dans J.L. Storch, P. Rodney et R. Starzomski (dir.), Toward a moral horizon: Nursing ethics for leadership and practice. Pearson Education Canada.

Introduction à l’éthique en santé publique 1 : contexte

Auteur(s): 

Sujet(s): 

Type de publication: 

ISBN (électronique): 

978-2-550-87861-2

Notice Santécom: